Must Love Switchfoot

Songs of Switchfoot will make you realize that life is temporary and that every human being needs to look beyond what this life has to offer —looking beyond every heartache, every wound, and every whys.

17952635_10212361174282764_7495233102679606703_n
photo credits: Claudine Licardo

 

My brother LOVE this band ever since. I first heard of their hit song, “Dare You to Move” 12 years ago in a church youth concert. Recently, Switchfoot performed that song in Manila and Cebu. Nostalgia hits you hard. You remember that specific moment several years ago when you hear your favorite song and then back to the present as you see Your Favorite Band. SWITCHFOOT. Perform. LIVE. *Goosebumps*

I was alone that night. It’s my first time to watch a rock concert by myself. Imagine a lady singing along and jumping as if she knows the people around her. Funny thing is, I actually gatecrashed the show!

 

You know how I ended up watching their show? Really did my part and looked for will call to claim my tickets from Switchfoot’s tour manager, Chico —

unnamed (1) …but nobody knew what I was talking about. Without any ticket, I fall in line and tried to convince the organizer to let me watch the show! Prayer works! hah!

It’s been so long since I had someone go with me on such events. Maybe this is God saying, “you’re perfectly fine alone for sometime, my daughter. You get to enjoy concerts without someone asking you to go home early.”

 

My friends in Cebu (Karla and Claudine) also had a chance to watch the show from the front row LIVE! Show started at 7pm but they arrived really early just to see Jon Foreman and the rest of the band up close.

“na pisikan kos iyang singot, nanguros dayun ko” -Claudine

I’m sure they enjoyed the show. ^ Claudine took lots and lots of photos while Karla shouted Chico’s name all throughout the show.

Switchfoot’s songs are full of HOPE. I can feel the sincerity behind each lyric of their songs. Here are several lines from their songs that I love:

I’ve been thinking ’bout the meaning of resistance, of a hope beyond my own
And suddenly the infinite and penitent begin to look like home Stars (Click Title to Watch Video)

If you could let the pain of the past go of your soul. None of this is in your control. If you could only let your guard down. You could learn to trust me somehow.  I swear, that I won’t let you go I Won’t Let You Go (Click Title to Watch Video)

 

Hello hurricane you can’t silence my love. I’ve got doors and windows boarded up.
All your dead end fury is not enough.Hello Hurricane (Click Title to Watch Video)

 

and my favorite:

I wanna sing with all my heart a lifelong song even if some notes come out right and some come out wrong. Cause I can’t take none of that through the door
Yeah, I’m living for more than just a funeral. I wanna burn brighter than the dawn

Live It Well (Click Title to Watch Video)

SWITCHFOOT: To switch your feet (surfing term) means to take a new stance facing the opposite direction. It’s about change and movement, a different way of approaching life and music. -Jon Foreman (lead vocals, guitarist, main songwriter)

Someday, somehow, you can easily swim against the tide of fear, uncertainty and life’s plain craziness. Thanks for inspiring Manila and Cebu, Switchfoot. God bless you guys!

 

© photo credits:

17362658_10212070980148092_8582697874871158731_n

CLAUDINE LICARDO

 

 

 

One thought on “Must Love Switchfoot

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

